The Pakistan National Assembly (PNA) is the lower house of the bi-cameral Majlis-e-Shura and is elected for a five-year term. The National Assembly comprises 336 democratically elected members and is made up of constituencies representing electoral districts, further divided into Provincial Assemblies.

The PNA was founded in 1973 and convenes for sessions at the Parliament House in Islamabad. 70 of the 336 seats are reserved for women and religious minorities to ensure proportional representation for each of the groups. Through debates, adjournment motions, question hour, and standing committees, the National Assembly keeps a check on the government. It ensures that the government functions within the parameters set out in the Constitution, and does not violate the people’s fundamental rights.